Show all news

Wayne Stetina Elected Vice President, Jim Patton Secretary
San Francisco, Calif. (March 27, 2008)-The USA Cycling Board of Directors today elected three new officers – including Mark Abramson as its president – at its biannual Board Meeting Wednesday in San Francisco. USA Cycling is the National Governing Body for the sport of competitive cycling in the United States.
Abramson takes office immediately and replaces Jim Ochowicz whose three consecutive two-year terms ended after his election in 2002.
Previously the vice president of the USA Cycling Board of Directors, Abramson will work closely with the organization´s senior management team to fulfill USA Cycling´s vision and goals. The office carries a two-year term with the next election slated for the spring of 2010.
Wayne Stetina was elected as the Board´s vice president while United States Cycling Federation Trustee Jim Patton will serve as secretary.
"I´m excited to work closely with the other officers, Board members and USA Cycling staff in order to contribute to the future accomplishment of the organization´s business and sporting objectives while overcoming its challenges," commented Abramson. "Additionally, I´d like to thank Mr. Ochowicz for six years of volunteer service and guidance."
Abramson, a National Collegiate Cycling Association Trustee, is a 1997 graduate of Tufts University in Boston where he began the school´s collegiate cycling program. Throughout the last decade, Abramson has been an integral advisor to collegiate cycling´s significant contributions to overall membership growth and athlete talent identification. He also volunteers as the Eastern Collegiate Cycling Conference Director and serves as a race promoter of various events in New England. Professionally, Abramson is the president of Forward Thought, a software and strategic I.T. consulting firm which services clients in the government, outdoor and high-tech industries throughout the United States and Europe.
"I have enjoyed working closely with Jim during his term as our Board president and sincerely thank him for his tremendous contributions to American cycling," said Steve Johnson, CEO of USA Cycling. "I have had the opportunity to work with Mark on several board initiatives and I am really looking forward to working with him in his new role as we continue to grow competitive cycling in all of its forms across these United States."
The 15-member USA Cycling Board of Directors consists of representatives from each of the organization´s five associations – the United States Cycling Federation (road, track & cyclo-cross), the National Off-Road Bicycle Association (mountain bike), the United States Professional Racing Organization (pro men´s road racing), the National Collegiate Cycling Association (collegiate cycling) and the BMX Association (bicycle motocross). Additionally, the USA Cycling Development Foundation also holds seats on the Board.
About USA Cycling
Recognized by the U.S. Olympic Committee and the Union Cycliste Internationale, USA Cycling promotes American cycling through its 60,000 members and 2,500 annual events. USA Cycling associations include the BMX Association (BMX), National Off-Road Bicycle Association (mountain bike), U.S. Cycling Federation (road/track), the National Collegiate Cycling Association and the U.S. Professional Racing Organization (professional men´s road). For more information, visit or contact USA Cycling Director of Communications, Andy Lee at 719-866-4867.
About NEBRA |  Conact Us |  Links |  Racers |  Promoters |  Grants |  Calendar |  News/Articles |  Home |  Advertise |  Results
©2002-2008 New England Bicycle Racing Association
website developed by: Todd Crisafulli
photos by: Jonathan McElvery
hosting by: