photo by BikeReg.comphoto by Jack Miltonphoto by JS McElveryphoto by JS McElveryphoto by JS McElvery


NEBRA Meeting Minutes from 1 /02 /2005
Wednesday, January 12, 2005

New England Bicycle Racing Association
Meeting Minutes 2005 #1
Date: January 2, 2005
Location:Mark Hagen’s Home, Natick, MA

Present:Diane Fortini
Mark Hagen
Jonathan Lowenstein
Sandy Martin
Mark McCormack

Secretary’s Report:
There was no Secretary’s Report at this meeting.

Treasurer’s Report:
There was no Treasurer’s Report at this meeting.

Grants were not discussed at this meeting.

1. In an effort to increase membership, Jon will write a letter to all the clubs and promoters to become NEBRA members.
2.All recipients of grants will need to be members.
3.All races in the New England Bicycle Racing Association Ranking System will need to be members.

Old Business:
1.The Banquet was discussed and planned. The Banquet needs to be advertised. Jon will write an e-mail and send it to the Promoters and Clubs. Mark H. will notify Cycling News and NEBC. Sandy will put the Banquet and BikeReg where tickets will be sold. Team presentations will be allowed to Pro-1-2 men’s, or Elite Level Women’s Teams. It will take place February 5, 2005 at the
Royal Plaza Hotel, Fitchburg, MA and will follow the following format:
5:00 p.m. Cocktails and mingling
6:00 p.m. Buffet dinner, awards, and team presentations
8:00 – 11:00 p.m. DJ and dancing (guests are invited to bring CDs)
Tickets are $20.00 per person, or $180 for a table of 10. Mark M. will contact Joel Brown to see if he will M.C. the event.

New Business:
1.There was discussion about Diane resigning from the Board. Sandy Martin would be able to fill the vacant position. Mark H. will investigate this possibility with Bill Black.
2.The Board made a resolution to appoint Mark Hagen as President, Mark McCormack as Vice President, and Jonathan Lowenstein as Secretary.
3.The Board made a resolution to create the New England Bicycle Racing Association Ranking System.
A.The criteria for races to be included New England Bicycle Racing Association Ranking System are as follows:
i. provision of separate pre-registration and day of registration lines.
ii. An information board that shows start times, rest room locations, start/finish locations, number placement, prize payout location, and junior rollout location.
iii. Toilet facilities near the start line.
iv. Provision of a finish line camera and full results. No camera is required at time trials.
v. Sending results to NEBRA and USAC.
vi. Posting results 15 minutes after race completion and paying out prizes within 1/2 hour after results are finalized unless other methods are stated in the race flyer.
vii. Provision of a pit or follow vehicle for all categories.
viii. Provision of double numbers for Road Races.
ix. Holding junior rollout prior to the start of the junior race.
x. Posting accurate start times on the race flyer. Listing the first race of the day, and stating all others follow is not acceptable.
B.Points will be awarded to the top 20 finishers. The points will be: 100, 90, 80, 75, 70, 65, 60, 55, 50, 45, 40, 35, 30, 25, 20, 15, 14, 13, 12, 11.
C.The categories will be as follows:
Men: P-1-2, 3, 4, 5, 35+, 45+, 55+, 65+, Jr categories.
Women: 1-2, 3, 4, 35+, 45+, Jr. categories
There will be a club category which is tabulated by adding up all the points earned by all the members of a club.
D.The exact Jr. Categories require more discussion.
E.The Board made a resolution to hire somebody to keep track of the points during the year. Mark M. will write a request for proposal.
F.Jon will write a letter to all clubs and promoters inviting them to put their race in the system.
4.Diane will have Bill Black put together an estimate for the 2005 budget.
5.The Board made a resolution to give Diane a $50.00 per month to pay for her phone expenses.

Next Meeting:
The next meeting will be at Sandy Martin’s house on February 12, 2005 @ 3:00 p.m.
Recorded by: Jonathan Lowenstein

Copied to: Attendees
Bill Black – Treasurer
State Reps.

photos by Jonathan McElvery, Jack Milton, and

NEBRA Results

©2002-2005 New England Bicycle Racing Association

Site design and hosting by Pioneer Registration Services, LLC